Lowe's
45430 Dulles Crossing Plz
Sterling, VA 20166
703-948-0010
Retail
Distance: 2.88 miles away
The Home Depot
43675 Greenway Corp Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
703-726-2883
Retail
Distance: 2.92 miles away
TART LUMBER
22183 Shaw Road
Sterling, VA 20166
703-450-5880
| Wholesale Distributer
Distance: 3.77 miles away
View All Results
ENLARGE
  • Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
  • Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
  • Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
Current Finish:

SmartCode 916 Touchscreen Electronic Deadbolt with Z-Wave Technology

Model: 916TRL ZW 15 UL

Function: Smartcode Deadbolt with Z-Wave

SmartCode 916 Touchscreen Electronic Deadbolt with Z-Wave Technology in Satin Nickel is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_916TRL-ZW-15-UL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kwikset
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The SmartCode touchscreen smart lock with Home Connect technology enables the lock to wirelessly communicate with other devices in home. The lock allows the user (through a third-party smart home controller) to remotely check the door lock status, lock or unlock the door and receive notifications via email or text. SmartCode is a one-touch locking motorized deadbolt. With your personalized code, you can enter your home with the convenience of keyless entry and the back-lit keypad provides increased visibility. It features patented SecureScreen™ technology to prevent code detection from fingerprints on the touchscreen. SmartCode is easy to install, program and use, and operates on 4 AA batteries. It also features SmartKey Security as the back-up keyway.

Installation Guide (Z-Wave) |  Programming Guide | Warranty

Installation Video (Z-Wave) | Manual Door Handing Video
  • Explore the benefits of Kwikset with Home Connect
  • Click here to view the Smartcode 916 Features and Benefits video
  • Capacitive touchscreen
  • Secured keyless entry convenience
  • One touch locking
  • Works with Amazon Alexa via Samsung SmartThings and/or Wink
  • Dramatically reduced interior size and sleek metal design
  • 30 user codes plus master code feature for added security
  • BHMA grade 2 certified
  • 20 minute fire rating - UL certified
  • Full 128-bit encryption security
  • SmartKey Security™ technology - the lock you can re-key yourself in seconds in three easy steps
  • SmartKey Security™ is compatible with Kwikset (KW1) keyway
  • Patented side locking bar technology offers improved security by protecting against lock bumping, an attack technique used to defeat conventional pin & tumbler locks
  • Installs in minutes with just a screw driver no hard wiring needed
  • Fits standard doors (1-3/8in. – 2in.) no new screw holes required
  • Lifetime mechanical and finish warranty. 1 year electronics warranty
  • Do not use prints made from this website to mark distances.
    Due to individual printers, dimensions on installation instructions may not print at an accurate scale.

  • Kwikset products are backed by one of the most comprehensive warranty programs available. You can feel confident that with the purchase of Kwikset you have selected the best quality product, backed by the best customer service available.

    This product comes with a lifetime mechanical and finish warranty to the original residential user of Kwikset against defects in material and workmanship as long as the original user occupies the residential premises upon which the product was originally installed. One year electronic warranty. This warranty DOES NOT COVER scratches; abrasions; deterioration due to the use of paints, solvents or other chemicals; abuse; misuse; or product(s) used in commercial applications. Upon return of a defective product to Kwikset Corporation, Kwikset may repair or replace the product or refund the purchase price. Kwikset is not liable for incidental or consequential damages. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights that vary from state to state. If a mechanical or finish defect occurs, please call 1-800-327-LOCK (5625) in the U.S. and Canada or return it to Kwikset Corporation, Consumer Services, 19701 Da Vinci, Lake Forest, CA 92610. For customers outside of the U.S. and Canada, claims under this warranty must be made only to either the place of purchase or to the listed importer.

    Consumer Services
    19701 Da Vinci
    Lake Forest, CA 92610
    1-800-327-LOCK
  • No specialty functions available
  • Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Support. I bought this lockset about 18 months ago. Had an issue with faceplate. Outstanding warranty support. Kwikset really stands behind their product.
    Date published: 2018-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very convenient A great solid lock. Installation was straightforward with easy to follow instructions. Goes through batteries fairly quickly but they are easy to replace and remote operation has been great. Customer service is amazing! Had one small problem Kwikset addresses quickly and went the extra mile.
    Date published: 2018-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product is well thought out so that installation is easy, programming is easy, and operation is easy. It is a great addition to my smart home.
    Date published: 2017-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lock Great lock, easy to install and use. Great customer service and warranty repair.
    Date published: 2017-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Love this product. It is so convent, paired mine with a Samsung smart hub and Amazon Alexa it’s fantastic
    Date published: 2017-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and secure I got the 916 Touchscreen Electronic Deadbolt locks after a disastrous experience with two Kevo Gen 1 locks - replace 3 times. The Kevo locks wouldn't work many times and I was even locked out of my own house. The 916 is reliable - opens ever time. Its easy to lock and it has the random number feature to prevent a finger pattern showing on the lock. It has the Smart Key feature so all my keys are the same. The 916 uses multiple codes so I can give out special codes from time to time when needed (say if am not home). I have two doors with the 916 and 3 doors with the Smart Key dead bolt locks - all with the same key.
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Solid Product for Home Automation I have the 916 installed and tied in with SmartThings Hub. The unit was fairly simple to install and configure with the ST Hub contorlling the codes and the schedule. I have visibility to who opened the door and when. I can schedule the codes based on time, day and day of week. I can trigger other events based on code entry and locking, such as turning on/off lights and setting the alarm mode. Battery life is good, with the first set lasting about 8 months of activity. I like the finish and the hidden numbers on the screen. Highly reommended.
    Date published: 2017-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works with Smartthings I purchased this to use with smartthings, but I wanted the key function as well. Works great so far.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    • y_2018, m_7, d_17, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_916TRL-ZW-15-UL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • I have seen mixed reviews. I am intrigued enough to be willing to make the purchase, but I would like to know how well you stand behind your product? There appears to be issues with the key pad. If I have issues, will it be easily replaced?

    Asked by: KarenG
    Hello KarenG, This product comes with a lifetime mechanical and finish warranty to the original residential user of Kwikset against defects in material and workmanship as long as the original user occupies the residential premises upon which the product was originally installed. One year electronic warranty. For assistance in parts for your lockset and warranty support please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2018-07-11

    Can I add or delete user codes remotely to my Kwikset 916? I have Smartthings hub.

    Asked by: Alam
    Hello Alam, Any app related questions will need to be directed to your home connect dealer. Please contact SmartThings at 800-726-7864. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2018-07-05

    Can I get a different finish on the exterior and interior parts of the 916?

    Asked by: Cynthia 713
    Hello Cynthia 713, We're sorry but Kwikset does not manufacture the product in split finishes. If you wanted to achieve the look you're looking for, you would need to purchase two units in the desired finish. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2018-07-02

    I purchased the Kwikset SmartCode 916 and expected to be able to lock and/or unlock the door from anywhere as advertised. Do I need to buy a "Home Connect" system in order to accomplish this?

    Asked by: Emi2Sugar
    Hello Emi2Sugar, SmartCode locks are equipped with z-wave or Zigbee technology. In order for a Z-Wave or Zigbee device to work, they need to be paired with a z-wave or Zigbee controller. The controller is the main gateway to control all your z-wave or Zigbee devices that are enrolled to the wireless mesh. Some controllers work off your existing router via an Ethernet cable while others work through GSM radio (like cellular phones). You need to research different controllers in the market and find which one best suits your needs. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2018-07-02

    Hiw can I resolve premature battery drain of my z wave 916?

    Asked by: Vpat
    Hello Vpat, For assistance in parts for your lockset and warranty support please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2018-06-27

    I bought 2 sets for two different doors. One works perfectly, the touch screen of the second one does not wake up. I have to use the key to open it and after I lock it, then I can use the touch screen. Any reason why?

    Asked by: noris
    Hello Noris, Thank you for your interest in Kwikset model # 916TRL-ZW-15-UL. We apologize for the inconvenience. To properly provide the correct solution, further troubleshooting about your product is needed. Please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2018-06-18

    I installed the 916 less than a month ago and now it shows the X pattern when I try to lock the door. I can still lock it with a key and a web app but the keypad does not work. When I lock it physically and try to open with my codes it does nothing.

    Asked by: Yash
    Hello Yash, Thank you for your interest in Kwikset model # 916TRL-ZB-11P-UL. We apologize for the inconvenience. To properly provide the correct solution, further troubleshooting about your product is needed. Please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2018-06-18

    How do I change the Door codes remotely on my 916 Z-Wave w/Wink Hub 2 Controler? In the App, All I can do is open/close the lock.

    Asked by: Randerson73
    Hello Randerson73, Thank you for your interest in Kwikset model # 915TRL-15-UL. We apologize for the inconvenience. This model does not have the feature to allow access to add/delete user codes remotely. To add/delete user codes, you have to be physically at the lock. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2018-06-18
    • y_2018, m_7, d_17, h_20CST
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_328
    • loc_en_US, sid_916TRL-ZW-15-UL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 20ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT