Lowe's
45430 Dulles Crossing Plz
Sterling, VA 20166
703-948-0010
Retail
Distance: 2.88 miles away
The Home Depot
43675 Greenway Corp Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
703-726-2883
Retail
Distance: 2.92 miles away
TART LUMBER
22183 Shaw Road
Sterling, VA 20166
703-450-5880
| Wholesale Distributer
Distance: 3.77 miles away
View All Results
ENLARGE
  • Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
  • Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
  • Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
Current Finish:

SmartCode Electronic Deadbolt

Model: 909 11P SMT

Function: SmartCode Deadbolt

SmartCode Electronic Deadbolt in Venetian Bronze is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 509.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_500
  • loc_en_US, sid_909-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kwikset
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The SmartCode touchpad electronic deadbolt is a one-touch locking motorized deadbolt. With your personalized code, you can enter your home with the convenience of keyless entry and the back-lit keypad provides increased visibility. SmartCode is easy to install, program and use, and operates on 4 AA batteries. It also features SmartKey Security as the back-up keyway.

Installation Guide | Programming Guide | Warranty

Manual Door Handing Process
  • Installs in minutes with just a screwdriver - no hard wiring required
  • One touch locking convenience
  • Easily replaces any standard deadbolt
  • Featuring SmartKey Security™, which protects against advanced break-in techniques and allows you to re-key your lock yourself in seconds.
  • SmartKey Security™ re-key technology is compatible with Kwikset (KW1) keyway
  • SmartKey cylinders feature a stainless steel side locking bar, racks and pins for increased strength and security
  • Patented side locking bar technology offers improved security by protecting against lock bumping, an attack technique used to defeat conventional pin & tumbler locks
  • Lifetime mechanical and finish warranty. 1 year electronics warranty.
  • Do not use prints made from this website to mark distances.
    Due to individual printers, dimensions on installation instructions may not print at an accurate scale.

  • Kwikset products are backed by one of the most comprehensive warranty programs available. You can feel confident that with the purchase of Kwikset you have selected the best quality product, backed by the best customer service available.

    This product comes with a lifetime mechanical and finish warranty to the original residential user of Kwikset against defects in material and workmanship as long as the original user occupies the residential premises upon which the product was originally installed. One year electronic warranty. This warranty DOES NOT COVER scratches; abrasions; deterioration due to the use of paints, solvents or other chemicals; abuse; misuse; or product(s) used in commercial applications. Upon return of a defective product to Kwikset Corporation, Kwikset may repair or replace the product or refund the purchase price. Kwikset is not liable for incidental or consequential damages. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights that vary from state to state. If a mechanical or finish defect occurs, please call 1-800-327-LOCK (5625) in the U.S. and Canada or return it to Kwikset Corporation, Consumer Services, 19701 Da Vinci, Lake Forest, CA 92610. For customers outside of the U.S. and Canada, claims under this warranty must be made only to either the place of purchase or to the listed importer.

    Consumer Services
    19701 Da Vinci
    Lake Forest, CA 92610
    1-800-327-LOCK
  • No specialty functions available
  • Rated 5 out of 5 by from No fumbling with key We just had a Trane heat pump installed with smart thermostat. After hours of research, we decided to use this Kwikset 909, Lifetime Brass, because of 1. Kwikset customer service, support, and warranty 2. Customer Reviews, and 3. Lowes nearby had the 909 in atock. I looked at a video installation on YouTube (really helpful ), read the instructions, and laid out the parts. This made for a simple install EXCEPT our door and hardware were old and the deadbolt did not fit properly into the door edge. So, I had about half hour extra work chiseling carefully to make a perfect fit. Looks and works great. Remember to get in, you need to press the unlock button before entering the code or you will have to use your key to enter. We also bought and installed a Kwikset Polo entry knob as insurance against not being able to lock the 909. It was $14.97 at Lowes and simple to install. Also, Lowes rekeyed the Polo entry knob to work with the 909 smartlock.
    Date published: 2019-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has been an outstanding workhorse. We have purchased and used three of these SmartCodes in three different places over the last ten years. Great convenience and great dependability. When our lastest one had something go wrong after a couple of months, Kwikset was quick to replace it with a new one, great service too.
    Date published: 2019-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great product Put it on our house and in 1996. Work great all these years when it did start acting up contacted the company. And they sent us a new one can ask for any more than that great product. We bought a another one to put on our sons house we are setting up as an assisted living residence.
    Date published: 2019-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Necessary & Attractive for All Homes We have had three installed in our home; front & back doors of our home and side garage door. Started with only one in the front door but it was not only attractive but easier for us to lock and open rather than fumbling around for keys. No more added expenses of replacing locks and making copies of keys because friends, relatives, house and pet sitters don't always remember where they put our keys and/or never return the keys. What an attractive and cost effective addition to our home.
    Date published: 2019-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treatment Bought the a few years ago and found that it worked really well after while it stopped being easy Lock called up Support they diagnosed it and sent me a pair parts
    Date published: 2019-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome lock!!! I bought this lock for my house and it is so easy to leave home. We just close the door and the automatic lock activates. Makes it easy for kids to enter home.
    Date published: 2019-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Auto lock a must for those with kids... I have installed over a dozen of these for friends over the last couple years. Absolutely love them, especially the pin switch to set a 32nd auto lock on the deadbolt. I never have to wonder if the doors are locked or not.
    Date published: 2019-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keyless entry I bought these 2 locks 8 years ago,and are working very well. I have been impressed with their warranty.
    Date published: 2019-04-13
    • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_500
    • loc_en_US, sid_909-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • What is the correct procedure to change batteries?

    Asked by: cyclone
    Hello cyclone, We understand you are looking for steps on how to change batteries on your Smartcode 909, we ask that you please make sure you are using the recommended batteries when changing them out. The recommended batteries are; Duracell, Energizer, or Rayovac AA Alkaline only. Down below will be the steps on how to change batteries. 1. Use a Philips screwdriver 2. Remove three screws (one on each side and one at the bottom) 3. Once the cover is removed look at the very top of the panel in white letters it'll say DOOR 4. Pull battery pack out, change batteries Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team.
    Answered by: Jhoselyn
    Date published: 2019-10-16

    What are the A and B buttons on the interior (cover removed) for?

    Asked by: RogerM14
    Hello RogerM14, We understand you are asking what the A and B button control on your Smartcode 909 lock. The A and B button will not be used in this lock, the A and B button are meant for home connected locks to be able to include (A) and exclude (B) the HUB system connected to the lock. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team.
    Answered by: Jhoselyn
    Date published: 2019-10-16

    How do i reset code cuz i dont know original code

    Asked by: Ritaj
    Hello Ritaj, We understand you are needing assistance with resetting codes on your Smartcode 909 due to you not knowing the original code. We have listed the steps to delete codes as well as doing a full reset on the lock if needed. Please note doing a reset will get rid of everything on the lock. Deleting codes: 1. Open the door. 2. Remove battery cover. 3. Press program button the number of times that corresponds to the user code you will be overriding. 4. Enter User Code. 6. Press lock button. Resetting lock: 1. Open the door. 2. Set the lock to the “locked” position either electronically (if possible) or manually (via thumb turn). 3. Remove battery cover and battery pack. 4. Press and hold the "program button" while reinserting the battery pack. Keep holding the button for 30 seconds until the lock beeps and the status LED flashes Red. 5. Press the program button once more. When the LED flashes green and you hear one beep, the lock has been reset. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team.
    Answered by: Jhoselyn
    Date published: 2019-10-15

    Just installed the smart code 909 but it is not back lit. Is there some way to turn this on or do I have a defective lock?

    Asked by: Julia1
    Hello Julia1, The Smartcode 909 does have four dip switches on the back to the side of the programming button, switch number one controls the LED light in the back. Please make sure switch number one is up so you are able to get the LED status. Down below will be a link with the instructions showing what all four dip switches control, please go to page four. If you are looking to get your Keypad to light up please make sure the lock is placed in the locked position first and then press the lock button so that the Keypad lights up. Kwikset recommends using Duracell, Energizer, or Rayovac batteries that are AA Alkaline only so you can get proper use of the lock. http://s7d5.scene7.com/is/content/BDHHI/909-installation-user Sincerely, Kwikset Support team.
    Answered by: Jhoselyn
    Date published: 2019-10-14

    Hi, Trying to reset Kwikset 909. If there's a master code, I don't know it. Tried pressing and releasing set button, entering new code and lock button without success. Two long beeps follow attempt and keypad does not light when entering numbers.

    Asked by: PETE G
    Hello Pete G, We’re sorry to hear of the difficulty you are having with trying to perform a reset on your lockset. Please perform the following troubleshooting steps: 1, Start with removing the battery pack. 2, Remove the interior side panel to access the wired cable. 3, Please check to be sure that the wire and cable are completely connected and not pinched. 4, Please unplug them, leave them unplugged for 10 seconds and then plug them in again. 5, Please be sure that they are tucked carefully in at the bottom of the lock as noted in the installation guide. 6, Press and HOLD the Program button while reinserting the battery pack. Continue to hold the Program button for 30 seconds, until the lock beeps and the status LED flashes red. 7, Press and release the program button once more. When the status LED flashes green and you will hear one beep, the lock has been reset. 8, Perform the handing process for the latch to extend and retract with the door in the open position. 9, Test the lock. If you still need further assistance, please contact our Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625 for assistance with your lockset. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-10-08

    Can I replace just the key lock tumbler without changing the entire lock to have it rekeyed?

    Asked by: Lindsey86
    Hello Lindsey86, If you do not have the original working key for this model, you can remove the cylinder out of the deadbolt and have the lock department at your local home improvement store use the resetting cradle to read the new cut key or existing key to your lock. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-10-08

    Is there anyway to get this, or a different model keypad lock with a double cylinder?

    Asked by: MarkHP
    Hello MarkHP, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. This model is not available with a double cylinder and is compatible with a double cylinder. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-10-07

    I have a kwikset lock, I think it is a 909 lock but it says it is Home Connect Ready; however, I cannot seem to connect it to app by Bluetooth. Am I missing something? Does Home Connect Ready not mean it is Bluetooth enabled?

    Asked by: Colm
    Hello Colm, Thank you for your interest in Kwikset model # 909-15-SMT. This model is not compatible with Home Connect technology. Model 910TRL is compatible with Home Connect Technology. If you still need further assistance, please contact our Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625 for assistance with submitting a picture of your lock to verify if your lock is Home Connect ready. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-10-07
    • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_9CST
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1079
    • loc_en_US, sid_909-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT