Lowe's
45430 Dulles Crossing Plz
Sterling, VA 20166
703-948-0010
Retail
Distance: 2.88 miles away
The Home Depot
43675 Greenway Corp Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
703-726-2883
Retail
Distance: 2.92 miles away
TART LUMBER
22183 Shaw Road
Sterling, VA 20166
703-450-5880
| Wholesale Distributer
Distance: 3.77 miles away
View All Results
ENLARGE
  • Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
    Lifetime Polished Brass
  • Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
  • Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
Current Finish:

SmartCode 888 Electronic Deadbolt with Z-Wave Technology

Model: 888 ZW500 L03 SMT

Function: Smartcode Deadbolt with Z-Wave

SmartCode 888 Electronic Deadbolt with Z-Wave Technology in Lifetime Polished Brass is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 22.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_888-ZW500-L03-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kwikset
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The SmartCode touchpad smart lock with Home Connect technology enables the lock to wirelessly communicate with other devices in home. The lock allows the user (through a third-party smart home controller) to remotely check the door lock status, lock or unlock the door and receive notifications. SmartCode is a one-touch locking motorized deadbolt. With your personalized code, you can enter your home with the convenience of keyless entry and the one-touch locking button illuminates to provide increased visibility. SmartCode is easy to install, program and use, and operates on 4 AA batteries. It also features SmartKey Security as the back-up keyway.
  • Explore the benefits of SmartCode 888
  • Z-Wave Plus Certified with the Z-Wave 500 chipset
  • Extended wireless range and superior 128-bit wireless encryption
  • Up to 30 user access codes for family and guests to use at the door
  • For use on exterior doors where keyed entry and security is needed
  • Featuring SmartKey® re-key technology; re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps
  • SmartKey® re-key technology is compatible with Kwikset (KW1) keyway
  • Comes with 2 keys
  • Latch has round corner faceplate
  • ANSI/BHMA grade 3 certified
  • Latch has adjustable backset 2-3/8"" to 2-3/4"" to fit all standard door preparations
  • Includes round deadbolt strike
  • 1 inch deadbolt throw
  • Locking mechanism functions with turn piece on the interior of the lock
  • Requires 4 AA batteries, included
  • Keypad stays lit for 30 seconds after inactivity
  • Expanding your security system solution with Home Connect technology, your keyless entry lock will now communicate wirelessly to security and home automation systems via Z-Wave
  • Easily installs in minutes with just a screwdriver
  • Lifetime mechanical and finish warranty, 1 year electronics warranty
  • Do not use prints made from this website to mark distances.
    Due to individual printers, dimensions on installation instructions may not print at an accurate scale.

  • Kwikset products are backed by one of the most comprehensive warranty programs available. You can feel confident that with the purchase of Kwikset you have selected the best quality product, backed by the best customer service available.

    This product comes with a lifetime mechanical and finish warranty to the original residential user of Kwikset against defects in material and workmanship as long as the original user occupies the residential premises upon which the product was originally installed. One year electronic warranty. This warranty DOES NOT COVER scratches; abrasions; deterioration due to the use of paints, solvents or other chemicals; abuse; misuse; or product(s) used in commercial applications. Upon return of a defective product to Kwikset Corporation, Kwikset may repair or replace the product or refund the purchase price. Kwikset is not liable for incidental or consequential damages. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights that vary from state to state. If a mechanical or finish defect occurs, please call 1-800-327-LOCK (5625) in the U.S. and Canada or return it to Kwikset Corporation, Consumer Services, 19701 Da Vinci, Lake Forest, CA 92610. For customers outside of the U.S. and Canada, claims under this warranty must be made only to either the place of purchase or to the listed importer.

    Consumer Services
    19701 Da Vinci
    Lake Forest, CA 92610
    1-800-327-LOCK
  • No specialty functions available
  • Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many features on Kwikset Smartcode 888 Deadbolt Glad I installed the Kwikset Smartcode 888 Touchpad Electronic Deadbolt. Took me an hour to install because I didn't read the instructions all the way through before starting. You can lock deadbolt by hitting a single button and the keypad lights up so you can see it in the dark. To unlock you enter your pin code then hit the lock button. I like that they printed lock programming steps inside battery cover if you need to reprogram years later. Took me only 10 minutes to use Kwikset's Smartkey feature to match the lock to my existing key.
    Date published: 2019-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This combo deadbolt is perfect!! My family is always in and out and we have one for our front door and added this one to our backdoor. We love that our home feels protected and we don't have to carry keys all the time!
    Date published: 2019-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for our rental property My husband and I have a rental property and this is the perfect solution to help ease the stress of losing a key or having to change locks. This is added security and gives peace of mind. Not only is this a security benefit, but it's also sleek and is a great design for our home.
    Date published: 2019-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more keys! I am loving LOVING our new electronic deadbolt, this is smart technology that makes everyone in the house very happy!!! First off the 'venetian bronze' color is so adorably vintage and matches our front entrance door to perfection giving it a very sophisticated and smart look, such a beautiful finish, style and design... the installation and programing was way easier than I expected, from removing the previous deadbolt to installing the new one it took us like around 45min but it can take less depending on how meticulous you are; the steps of installation are really that simple. It operates with 4 AA batteries. The best feature is something that we can all agree on and it is super helpful.. and that is the fact that you no longer need a key, such a relief to just walk away from home with peace of mind, the system can store up to 30 user codes, this is super convenient for when the kids come home from school or any other activity, or if anyone (being family, friends or someone doing a job in your home) needs to come in, you no longer have to leave the key hidden in the most obvious places. It does come with a regular key that you can use as well but we prefer to just input a code, it also has a button to lock the door back up, so once you open the door to enter or exit at a push of a button it locks it again, it honestly can't be any simpler, and besides that it has the optional capability to auto-lock the door after about 30sec in case you forget to lock it, I think that feature is genius. You can also connect to your smart home system to enable you to lock and unlock from your smartphone but that is something we are yet to do. Awesome, simple, helpful, convenient and of course smart technology! Love it!
    Date published: 2019-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly I just finished installing this lock. It took about ten minutes to swap out my old one. Everything works like a charm. I haven't hooked it up to a wireless hub yet - I may add that later on. The instructions were easy to follow and I didn't have any issues. Highly recommeded.
    Date published: 2019-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient for my kids It took me a bit to write the review because I needed to install it first. Installation wasn't too difficult. I really like the fact I can give the kids the code and don’t have to worry about them not having a key or even losing a house key. Not sure why we didn’t do this years ago. Very happy with the product.
    Date published: 2019-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy deadbolt! I am pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to install this lock. It took no more than 15 minutes and it fit almost perfectly where my old lock was...just one quick adjustment was needed.  The deadbolt is solidly made, it absolutely makes me feel more safe and secure. I am a huge fan of the electronic touch pad. I love that it is backlit and they are some many different number combinations you can choose from. I love that I can give a separate code to guests to enter our home if we are not home. I was happy to see that batteries are even included.  I am relieved that it comes with keys as a backup to lock or unlock the door.  I am very impressed with all of the safety features this lock has. I like that I can lock the door with the touch of a button. The keypad stays lit for a bit after use, which is nice.   I am looking forward to connect it to my home devices to check out all of the other features especially being able to lock and unlock the door while I am away, if needed.   The satin nickel finish is beautiful and the interior park of the lock is very sleek looking. Very satisfied with this deadbolt system.
    Date published: 2019-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Increased Safety and Style! We installed this Kwikset SmartCode 888 Electronic Deadbolt in the door leading from the garage to our house and I could not be happier! It has added a new level of security to our house and I could not be happier! The code is easy to input and the lock is very secure. The product is also easy to install and very stylish! I highly recommend this Kwikset deadbolt!
    Date published: 2019-06-15
    • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_888-ZW500-L03-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Why do my buttons not light up at night??

    Asked by: Rod63
    Hello Rod63, We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we may help resolve this issue immediately. We understand that you are having difficulty with the keypad does not light up. To make the keypad light up, press any key on the keypad. The key pad illuminates during the day or night. Please make sure the wired connection is fully seated the deadbolt is in the locked position. Please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625 if further assistance is needed with your lockset and possible warranty support. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-09-03

    What hub is required to connect Smartcode 888 to Alexa

    Asked by: Holmlund
    Hello Holmlund, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. If you do not have a Home Connect dealer, you would need to purchase a Z-Wave home automation system. Smartcode Z-Wave door locks are not connected via the internet and are not Wi-Fi enabled devices. Smartcode locks are equipped with Z-Wave technology. In order for a Z-Wave device to work, they need to be paired to a Z-Wave controller. The controller is the main gateway to control all your Z-Wave devices that are enrolled to the wireless mesh. Some controllers work off your existing router via an Ethernet cable while others work through GSM radio (like cellular phones). You need to research different controllers in the market and find which one best suits your needs. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-09-03

    it seems the hole diameter is 1 and 1/2 inches in diameter and the bolt hole is 1 7/8 do you have that size

    Asked by: Dennis 000023
    Hi Dennis 000023, I have included the link to the installation guide for this model #888 ZW500 15 SMT for the proper door preparations. Please refer to step # 1, "Prepare the door and check dimensions" for the correct hole sizes. https://s7d5.scene7.com/is/content/BDHHI/5069923 If you have any further questions regarding your installation, please don't hesitate to call us at 1-800-327-5625 and we will be happy to assist. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team
    Date published: 2019-08-30

    I have this product for over a week but cannot connect through Smart Things Hub. Is there any instruction for that? Thank you.

    Asked by: Anonymous
    Hello Gillian Nhu, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. If you have the SmartCode 888 electronic deadbolt with Z-Wave technology, is compatible with Samsung SmartThings hub using Z-Wave. Please perform the exclusion/inclusion process provided below. 1: Hold the lock interior a maximum of 12” from the Z-Wave controller. 2: Initiate the exclusion process at the controller. (Refer to your Z-Wave control system instructions for more information.) 3: Press button “A” on the lock one time to include it in your system. 4: Once the lock is fully excluded from the system, perform the inclusion process from your Z-Wave control system instructions. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-08-26

    My electronic Deadbolt SmartCode 888 couldn't lock use my key or mnual. I have tried to turn it but couldn't. What should I do?

    Asked by: Jasmine
    Hello Jasmine, We’re sorry to hear of the difficulty you have experienced with your lockset. In order to provide the correct solution, more information is needed. Kwikset covers their locks under a Limited Lifetime Warranty. For assistance in troubleshooting your product and warranty support please contact Kwikset Consumer Service at 1-800-327-5625. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-08-22

    How do I set a Master Code and how do I then add and remove personal codes once I have the Master Code

    Asked by: danny07
    Apparently there is no Programming and Troubleshooting Guide
    Answered by: Frustrated Tech
    Date published: 2019-08-23

    I am looking for the programming and troubleshooting guide for the SmartCode 888. Please advise. 

    Asked by: andrea1
    Hello andrea1, The installation and user guide will have programming instructions on page 3, please refer to steps 6 & 7 depending on the programming. There is also a reference page at the bottom with more details. I have attached a link at the bottom. If this doesn't help, please call us and we'll be happy to help. https://s7d5.scene7.com/is/content/BDHHI/5069923 Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team
    Date published: 2019-08-20

    what s the difference between the kwikset 888 and the 910 besides the look. is one newer or better

    Asked by: Brh42
    Hello Brh42, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. The difference between model # 888 and model # 910 is the model # 888 is available with the Z-Wave only and has an ANSI/BHMA Grade 3 security rating versus model # 910 is available with Zigbee or Z-wave and has an ANSI/BHMA Grade 2 security rating. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-08-19
    • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6CST
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_888-ZW500-L03-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 30ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT