Lowe's
45430 Dulles Crossing Plz
Sterling, VA 20166
703-948-0010
Retail
Distance: 2.88 miles away
The Home Depot
43675 Greenway Corp Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
703-726-2883
Retail
Distance: 2.92 miles away
TART LUMBER
22183 Shaw Road
Sterling, VA 20166
703-450-5880
| Wholesale Distributer
Distance: 3.77 miles away
View All Results
ENLARGE
  • Polished Brass
    Polished Brass
    Polished Brass
  • Antique Brass
    Antique Brass
    Antique Brass
  • Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
    Satin Nickel
  • Satin Chrome
    Satin Chrome
    Satin Chrome
  • Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
    Venetian Bronze
Current Finish:

Key Control Deadbolt

Model: 816 11P SMT

Function: Key Control Deadbolt

Key Control Deadbolt in Venetian Bronze is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 34.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_816-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kwikset
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Smart alternative to master keying. Kwikset’s Key Control Deadbolt, featuring SmartKey re-key technology, is a revolutionary cost and time-saving alternative to master keying. Re-keying a traditional master key system is labor intensive, time consuming and costly. With the first and only two-cylinder Key Control Deadbolt, either cylinder can be re-keyed in seconds, without removing the lock from the door. Retain your one-key access to all units and gain more flexible key management, all while saving time and money. The new Key Control Deadbolt is the perfect alternative to master keying.
Available through Special Order at a Home Improvement Retailer or through Wholesale and Distribution Partners
 
  • This single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn piece on the inside.
  • ANSI/BHMA Grade 2
  • Top concealed cylinder provides one-key control for the property manager
  • Lower exposed cylinder allows unique user keys for the tenant
  • Re-key your user or control cylinder at any time in seconds
  • Maintain key control throughout tenant and employee turnover
  • Re-key the lock without removing from the door
  • SmartKey Security™ re-key technology is compatible with Kwikset (KW1) keyway
  • Save time & money by re-keying yourself
  • Do not use prints made from this website to mark distances.
    Due to individual printers, dimensions on installation instructions may not print at an accurate scale.

  • Kwikset products are backed by one of the most comprehensive warranty programs available. You can feel confident that with the purchase of Kwikset you have selected the best quality product, backed by the best customer service available.

    This product comes with a lifetime mechanical and finish warranty to the original residential user of Kwikset against defects in material and workmanship as long as the original user occupies the residential premises upon which the product was originally installed. One year electronic warranty. This warranty DOES NOT COVER scratches; abrasions; deterioration due to the use of paints, solvents or other chemicals; abuse; misuse; or product(s) used in commercial applications. Upon return of a defective product to Kwikset Corporation, Kwikset may repair or replace the product or refund the purchase price. Kwikset is not liable for incidental or consequential damages. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights that vary from state to state. If a mechanical or finish defect occurs, please call 1-800-327-LOCK (5625) in the U.S. and Canada or return it to Kwikset Corporation, Consumer Services, 19701 Da Vinci, Lake Forest, CA 92610. For customers outside of the U.S. and Canada, claims under this warranty must be made only to either the place of purchase or to the listed importer.

    Consumer Services
    19701 Da Vinci
    Lake Forest, CA 92610
    1-800-327-LOCK
  • Some of our product families have available specialty functions. The specialty products listed below can be ordered through our Wholesale or Distribution Partners. Please refer to our printed catalog for complete specialty products availability.

    Model Number Description Function Name
    817 11P SMT Key Control Deadbolt UL in Venetian Bronze Key Control Deadbolt UL
  • Rated 5 out of 5 by from SAVE TIME DURING KEY CHANGE I have 3 doors in each unit that I used to have to remove lock to change. Now it is as simple as turn key, insert a tool, remove key, insert new key and turn and you are done. Saves me a lot of time.
    Date published: 2019-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for landlords Easy install; smart key feature makes it easy to rekey lock to match other locks; key control / master key function is great and allows landlords to have one master key to multiple properties; Kwikset customer support quickly resolved an issue I had with a lock. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2018-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend. This is a great lock. I purchased the Smart Key model and couldn’t be more pleased. It is good looking and rugged.
    Date published: 2018-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time and Money Saver! I have owned several of these for about 4 years. I transitioned all of my rental to this system so I did not have to replace the locks each time there was a vacancy. Each renter gets the security of knowing no one else has a key to their unit and I save time and money!
    Date published: 2017-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install. I needed a replacement lock and really did not want another key to keep up with. It is nice to be able to use one key for all my locks. Great product.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for property management We have been buying these deadbolts in quantities of 25 or more and slowly integrating them on all of our properties. These make life so much easier when there is a abrupt move out or needing to change locks ASAP, we can just change the key!!! LOVE Smartkey
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price and Product. I bought this lock last summer and I couldn't believe how easy it was to install. Once I had the lock installed, I used the SmartKey to convert it so my original keys still worked. Once I used the SMARTKEY the process was very easy.. Now, 6 months later, the lock is still operating Flawlessly. What a terrific product.
    Date published: 2017-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Customer Service We bought dead bolts for all our exterior doors. They've been in use over 8 years. When we experienced a problem with 1 of the dead bolts, Kwiikset immediately sent us a replacement without any difficulty. It was much appreciated. We really like the keyed products and will select them again gladly. Thanks!
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_816-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Kwikset 816 Key Control Single Cylinder Deadbolt with smart lock, can you tell me if the tail piece is flat or D shape?"

    Asked by: renegadchevy
    Hello renegadchevy, The tailpiece included with model # 816-3-SMT has a D-shape. Please see figure 6 in the installation instructions provided below. https://s7d5.scene7.com/is/content/BDHHI/40632-01 Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-09-17

    Is the Kiwkset (KW1) just the same as Kwikset (K) for its keyway? I see some Kwikset products from big box stores with specifications Kwikset (KW1) keyway and Kwikset (K) keyway.

    Asked by: Johnnn
    Hello Johnnn, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. This model comes with the SmartKey Re-key technology which is compatible with Kwikset (KW1) keyway only. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-09-09

    Does the K6 have a specific model number when it comes to ordering? If I order six of the 816's and one of the 817's, can the 817 be master keyed to the others?

    Asked by: Bob1033
    Hello Bob1033, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. The K6 indicates that six products come together in one package. The deadbolts with the SmartKey technology can be rekeyed to one key even though they have a different model. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-08-27

    Is the master a different key blank from tenant key and if so what is the type blank, preferably with "Do Not Duplicate" stamped on it, is it.

    Asked by: Jedi
    Hello Jedi, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. This model will come with two sets of keys one for the keyed cylinder below and one set of the master key cylinder above. Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-08-22

    Can I get replacement cylinders for the control cylinder on the 816 deadbolt? I have 80 locks and 4 have failed on the control cylinder.  I also would like to get some knobs or levers with this keyway for the supply closets

    Asked by: rdub
    Hello rdub, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. The replacement SmartKey Deadbolt Cylinder model # 83373-005 can be purchased separately. We currently do not manufacture a key control cylinder for our keyed entry knobs and levers. For the most up to date pricing and availability please visit your local home improvement special order counter or our Where to Buy page: http://www.kwikset.com/where-to-buy.aspx Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Team Member
    Date published: 2019-07-19

    what kit should I buy if I want to put this on a 1 3/8 door thickness the description says to get a thin door kit?

    Asked by: briggsc2
    Hello briggsc2, You can purchase a thin door kit for your Key Control deadbolt by using #83397. For the most up to date pricing and availability please visit your local home improvement special order counter or our Where to Buy page: http://www.kwikset.com/where-to-buy.aspx Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2019-05-09

    Not too familiar with how locks work, but once the keys from the box run out do you just go to any key copy shop (i.e. local hardware store) and say I need a random KW1 key and then use that to re-key the lock?

    Asked by: BWB
    Hello BWB, If your house keys are Kwikset compatible (KW1 or KW10) keys then you can use the SmartKey technology to rekey them. Thank you, Kwikset
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2019-05-06

    I just bought the 816 11P SMT key control deadbolt.  The box didn’t have a drive-in-latch.  Should it have one and/or how do I get one since I have a steel door.

    Asked by: tomchow3
    Hello tomchow3, This model does not come with a drive-in latch for steel doors. You can purchase the drive-in latch by using #83371-001. For the most up to date pricing and availability please visit your local home improvement special order counter or our Where to Buy page: http://www.kwikset.com/where-to-buy.aspx Sincerely, Kwikset Support Team
    Answered by: Kwikset Support Team
    Date published: 2019-01-07
    • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_8CST
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_51
    • loc_en_US, sid_816-11P-SMT, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_kwikset
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 85ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT